Scares That Care & Carmichael’s Books

I’ll be making a couple of personal appearances to support the recent release of my novel, Mr. Suicide.

This coming weekend (Friday July 24th through Sunday July 26th), I’ll be appearing in Williamsburg, Virginia at the second annual Scares That Care Weekend.  Scares That Care is an IRS-approved, 501(c)(3) charity that raises money for those who are seriously ill and need help with medical expenses.  One of the ways they raise money is by holding this convention. I’ve not met the con organizers, but just from interacting with them online they seem like good, experienced folks.

Throughout the weekend, I’ll be selling and signing books at the Author’s Alley section of the con.  I’ll have many copies of Mr. Suicide for sale (along with various other odds & ends).

I’ll also be a part of author programming. Friday night at 9 p.m. I’ll be appearing on a panel about panels (a meta-panel?). Its official title (per Brian Keene’s website) is:  “DO WE STILL NEED WOMEN OF HORROR PANELS?”  Given the time of night (Friday at 9) and the large number of participants, I’m expecting the mood for this one to be rather on the rambunctious side.  Should be interesting.

Sunday from 12:30 – 1:00 p.m., I’ll be doing a reading.  My hunch is I’ll probably read something from Mr. Suicide.  Maybe a short bit from that and a piece of flash fiction.  We’ll see.  I need to think about the time constraints.  Maybe I’ll read a bit and do a short Q&A afterward.

In any event, I haven’t been to a Mid-Atlantic horror con since the heyday of the late, lamented Horrorfind.  So, I’m hoping to not only meet lots of readers, but also reconnect with some old friends I haven’t seen in many years.

Then, on Thursday July 30th at 7:00 p.m. I’ll be appearing in Louisville at Carmichael’s Books (Frankfort Avenue location).  I enjoy visiting lots of different bookstores, but I’ve long-considered Carmichael’s the epicenter of Louisville’s literary scene. And they maintain a strong, smart genre fiction section (indeed, I’ve spotted Word Horde titles there in the past, long before my novel came out).  And it’s not just Word Horde.  They sell genre stuff you just don’t think you’d be able to find at a Louisville book store.  I’ve seen books published by Tachyon there.  I bought Brian Evenson’s Windeye  (published by Coffee House Press) there.  So,  I’m quite pleased to have this opportunity to appear there.

I’ll also be doing dropping by a few podcasts in the next week or two.  But more about those tomorrow. I have a busy week ahead of me, preparing for the upcoming road trip. Gotta get movin’.

Posted on July 20, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ll also be at Scares That Care! Looking forward to chatting with you!

    And if you’re looking for podcasts, I run Arm Cast: Dead Sexy Horror Podcast, and I’d love to have you on as a guest… maybe we can do an interview this coming weekend!

    Armand

  2. nicolecushing

    Armand: It’ll be good to see you again. Yes, I’d love to do an interview with your podcast. Let’s try to find a time this weekend. (I’m sure there will be down time, at some point). Right now things are a little hazy about when I’m arriving…but I know I’ll be there Friday, Saturday, and a good part of Sunday.

Leave a Reply

