I Fucking Love The Small Press

photo(81)How do I fucking love thee, small press?  Let me count the ways!

I love reading small press horror books.  Both my physical shelves and my Kindle are full of them.  In fact, if you love horror fiction chances are you’re a small press junkie, too.  Since the end of the ’80s mass market boom years, the small press has been picking up much of the slack in the genre.

I also love reading stuff at the darker, more deranged end of so-called literary fiction (which also tends to come to me via small presses — and the occasional university press — offering work in translation).

If I relied exclusively on NYC for my reading, I’d be screwed.  Yes, there are some quality titles that emerge from larger publishers (I keep hearing great things about Paul Tremblay’s A Head Full of Ghosts and Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach trilogy, for example).  But NYC is not chomping at the bit to reprint Hermann Ungar’s strange tale of corrosive anxiety, abasement, and mutilation, The Maimed.  For that you’ll need to go to Twisted Spoon Press.  Nor is NYC likely to pick up the nightmarish work of Mário de Sá-Carneiro.  For that you’ll need to go to Dedalus Books.  Want to read The Nightwatches of Bonaventura?  The University of Chicago Press can hook you up with a copy.

Much like Clive Barker’s Midian, the small press is a haven for literary monsters.  (And yes, I’m aware of the irony of using a mass market example to illustrate my point.  Just humor me.)

I’m proud to be such a literary monster. No…”proud” doesn’t begin to capture it, I fucking love being such a literary monster. I have no inferiority complex about currently working with publishers headquartered in Petaluma, California and Vancouver, Washington instead of NYC.  Nope…I like being relatively unique and I’m grateful to have an opportunity to sing my dark, weird song.

I might be wrong, but I look at things this way…

One reviewer calls my work:  “mind-bending“.

Another calls it: ” outré

Another calls it: “cerebral” but also “taboo”

Others call it:  “brutal”, “extreme” and “disturbingly graphic”

And yeah, the word “transgressive” gets mentioned sometimes.

For my readers, such adjectives highlight why they dig my stuff.  You guys get it.  Maybe the sound of such words makes you intrigued. But to average NYC publishing industry folks?  The sound of wet farts would probably be easier on the ears.

My new novel, Mr. Suicide (debuting today from Ross Lockhart’s small press, Word Horde) is pretty much the textbook example of a book that NYC would never touch, simply because of its tone and style. (And the same could be said for my forthcoming story collection, The Mirrors, coming out from Cycatrix Press).

Thank goodness there’s Midian — where being bizarre, brutal, graphic and transgressive is an asset, not a liability.

If you’re reading this, chances are you have at least a little bit of literary monster in you, yourself.  Maybe your ears are just a tad bit too pointed?  Your teeth just a little too sharp? Your nails too suggestive of claws?  That pain in your upper back…might that not be your wings starting to sprout?

Don’t panic.  These are good things.

Let’s not wish our uniqueness away.  Let’s celebrate it.

I fucking love being a literary monster, and Mr. Suicide is a book that I’m fucking proud of.  Will you take a look at my strange baby?

Back Cover Description

MrSuicide_FrontCoverLike everyone else in the world, you’ve wanted to do things people say you shouldn’t do.

How many times in your life have you wanted to slap someone? Really, literally strike them? You can’t even begin to count the times. Hundreds. Thousands. You’re not exaggerating. You’re not engaging in… whatchamacallit? Hyperbole? You’re not engaging in hyperbole.

Maybe the impulse flashed through your brain for only a moment, like lightning, when someone tried to skip ahead of you in line at the cafeteria. Hell, at more than one point in your life you’ve wanted to kill someone; really, literally kill someone. That’s not just an expression. Not hyperbole. Then it was gone and replaced by the civilized thought: You can’t do that. Not out in public.

But you’ve had the thought…

How to Get the Book

You can order Mr. Suicide directly from Word Horde by visiting this link.  (If you order direct from them, they can attach a signed book plate).  Also, by buying the trade paperback, you’ll get the ebook thrown in for free.  Word Horde calls it the “Mr. Suicide Bundle”.

Or, you can get it from Amazon.

Or Barnes & Noble

Or Zeisings.

Posted on July 15, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

