Announcing The Table of Contents for THE MIRRORS

This is an extremely busy time for me.  (Possibly the busiest yet in my writing career).  I’m in the process of working with Ross Lockhart on the final round of corrections for my debut novel, Mr. Suicide.  I’m also working with Jason Brock on the production of my short story collection, The Mirrors.  And, hell, I’m also wanting to finish work on my next novel (tentatively titled Knife & Wound).

This weekend, Jason showed me a rough version of Zach McCain’s cover for The Mirrors and I’m thrilled with it.  Zach knows how to translate the emotional core of my work into a strong cover image.  I can’t wait to share the cover with you.

But, alas, I don’t yet have the go-ahead to share it with you.

But I want to share something with you.

So I’ll share this:  the table of contents for The Mirrors!

Foreword by S.T. Joshi

Preface by Nicole Cushing

Broken Mirrors

The Truth, as Told by a Bottle of Liquid Morphine
The Cat in the Cage
The Orchard of Hanging Trees
The Fourteenth
A Catechism for Aspiring Amnesiacs
White Flag*
The Company Town
The Choir of Beasts **
All I Really Need to Know I Learned in Piggy Class
The Last Kid Scared by Lugosi*
I Am Moonflower
The Meaning
The Suffering Clown

Funhouse Mirrors

Eulogy to be Given by Whoever’s Still Sober
Youth to be Proud Of
Subcontractors

Boudoir Mirrors

The Peculiar Salesgirl
Non Evidens
The Squatters

Coda

The Mirrors

* This is a new story, not previously published.

**Note: to be clear, this collection will only publish the one short story titled “The Choir of Beasts”, not all three stories from the chapbook titled The Choir of Beasts.  See this blog post for more information.

Oh, and I should point out that I wrote about two thousand words of story notes for this collection.  I’m not sure if Jason is going to position them at the end of each tale or in one location at the end of the book.  But I talk a little about the origin of each story.

I don’t want to make any promises (because delays do happen in book production, obviously), but this one may be available for purchase at the World Horror Convention in Atlanta.

Posted on April 13, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

