Some Details About THE MIRRORS and THE CHOIR OF BEASTS

choir of beasts try 4bSMALLThe question has been asked:  will my forthcoming collection The Mirrors include The Choir of Beasts?

The answer is:  yes and no.

For the uninitiated, The Choir of Beasts is a limited edition chapbook published by Dunhams Manor Press (the weird fiction imprint of Dynatox Ministries) in 2013.  How limited?  Only twenty five numbered copies (and a handful of publisher copies that I sold or gave away, myself).  As one might expect, given the tiny print run, they sold out very quickly.

The chapbook is comprised of three stories, “The Choir of Beasts”, “The Temple of the Fly”, and ‘The Sermon in the Pit”.  “The Choir of Beasts” takes up roughly seventy-five percent of that chapbook. The other two stories (set in the same world as “Choir”) take up the remainder.

The Mirrors will reprint “The Choir of Beasts”, but will not reprint “The Temple of the Fly” or “The Sermon in the Pit”.

This seems to be the best solution for everyone involved.  It makes a significant chunk of the chapbook available to a larger audience, without completely sacrificing the specialness of the chapbook.  The chapbook is the only place to find “The Temple of the Fly” and “The Sermon in the Pit” (and I don’t see any reason, at this time, to make those pieces available elsewhere).  I want the limited edition to retain some of its limited-ness, if that makes any sense.

Oh, and another thing:  the version of “The Choir of Beasts” that appears in The Mirrors is just a hair different from the version in the chapbook.  Don’t misunderstand me:  there are no differences in plot or characterization.  But I found the need to give the story another polish and I added one or two new sentences, just to flesh out things that I felt needed greater fleshing out.  (The truth is, I gave most — if not all — the stories another round of polishing.  Tightening bolts.  Buffing out scratches.  That sort of thing.)

Oh, and ANOTHER thing:  I can officially confirm S.T. Joshi is writing the foreword for The Mirrors.  (Actually, I can now say that he has already written the foreword.  I’ve seen it.)

Any more questions?  I’d be happy to answer them in the comments section, below.

Posted on February 4, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

