Frantic Post-ReaderCon Entry….

Thinphoto(39)gs have been crazy busy, and I honestly don’t have time for a full blog entry, so here are some brief highlights of the last few weeks.

ReaderCon was a blast.  I had a chance to meet so many interesting folks in the weird fiction scene (if I list everyone, I’ll be here forever…and I’ll forget someone.  But, yeah, a lot of folks).  My novella Children of No One didn’t win the Shirley Jackson Award, but I enjoyed attending the ceremony.  Also, as a finalist for the award I was gifted the lovely, polished skipping stone pictured to the left.  Shirley Jackson…stone…get it?  (If you’re like the vast majority of my friends back home, you don’t.  But the crowd reading this blog is no doubt more refined).

Anyway, congratulations to all of the winners (especially Veronica Schanoes, whose novella Burning Girls won and Joe Pulver, who won in the anthology category for The Grimscribe’s Puppets).

In other news, I’m hopeful to have at least one new project to announce in the near future.  I can’t say much more than that and I’m almost afraid of jinxing it by even saying this much.  But I’m quite enthusiastic about the possibility of this working out.  Things are looking good.

And, last (but not least), this morning I enjoyed a brief Twitter discussion with Hugh Howey on his unbridled enthusiasm for Amazon.  I’m not anti-Amazon, but think Hugh’s enthusiasm could use some bridling.  Hugh (not surprisingly) disagrees.

Amazon isn’t the Evil Empire, but it isn’t the messiah either.  The truth is always more complicated than a bumper sticker.  It’s best to be a critical consumer of corporate press releases.  The Amazon vs. Hachette debate needs nuance and moderation (such as that offered by John Scalzi  and Walter Jon Williams), not cheer leading and talking points.  If you want to see the blow-by-blow Twitter recap, check it out on Storify.

And with that, I’m off.  Stay hip, cats!

 

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I totally agree with you about Hugh’s trumpeting of Amazon. It almost comes across as shilling which just makes me feel icky. Not being published, either indie or trad, I don’t really have a horse in this race(actually “dog in this fight” may be more apt in this case) but hopefully I will at some point and I don’t really see either side in this spat as being truly on the side of authors. They’re both businesses and so, at the end of the day, their duty, legally speaking, is to maximise profits for their shareholders and as such are both duty bound to exploit the labour of authors, artists, editors etc. They just have different ways of doing that.

    Secondly, I was really rooting for you with Children of No One in the Jackson awards. I absolutely loved the story, it was a truly disturbing tale and I can’t wait to see what you’re going to produce next. 🙂

Leave a Reply

