InConJunction 33; The Lovecraft eZine Chat, & my Black Static Interview

Yowza!  Tis a busy Abyss these days!

A few weeks ago, Peter Tennant interviewed me for the Black Static website.  We discussed the issue of provocative/”outrageous” art and several other questions (including the unfortunate life events which steered me in the direction of writing horror in the first place.  Here’s a hint:  there was a corpse involved.)

Around the same time, I was the guest on the Lovecraft eZine’s weekly video chat.  Mike Davis interviewed me about Children of No One and my contribution to the Ligotti tribute anthology The Grimscribe’s Puppets.  The interview has been preserved for posterity on Ye Olde YouTube, so take a gander when you have a chance. (The program runs about one hour long).

Last, but certainly not least, I’ll be attending InConJunction 33 this weekend (July 5th, 6th, and 7th) at the Indianapolis Marriott East (7202 East 21st Street · Indianapolis, Indiana 46219).

If memory serves me correctly, it’s been a couple of years since I’ve attended InConJunction.  So I’ll be looking forward to seeing my Indianapolis friends once again.  In the past, I’ve enjoyed InConJunction’s unique mix of workshops on actual science blended with SF, fantasy, and horror workshops.  InConJunction is a relatively small affair compared to some of the BigHugeMediaStarStudded MEGA-Cons.  (There are only 600-800 folks in attendance, according to one of the con organizers).  But the folks who do attend are strong supporters of speculative fiction.  Bright, bright people.  Quality, not quantity.

I’ll be appearing on several panels, and will also have a table in the dealer’s room.  I’ll be signing and selling books and giving away free audio fiction CDs (perfect for the ride home).  I’ll also be peddling a unique collection of macabre antiques.  For real.

Anyway, here’s my official schedule for the weekend:

Friday

I’ll be arriving early to set up my dealer’s room table; I’ll be hangin’ ’round the dealer’s room much of the afternoon up until it closes.  This is the day I’ll be most available for casual hang-out time.

11:00 p.m. Writers’ Roundtable:  Horror

Saturday

11:00 a.m. On the Write Track: So You Want to be a Writer?

1:00 p.m. On the Write Track: Death to Writer’s Block

2:00 p.m. On the Write Track:  Mistakes Beginning Writers Make

5:00 p.m. On the Write Track:  Publishing

6:00 p.m.  On the Write Track: Worldbuilding:  Characters

11:00 p.m. The Life & Work of Alan Moore

Sunday

No panels; catch me in the dealer’s room!

Okay, now to start packing!  See ya at the con!

 

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

