Gearing Up for the World Horror Convention

Things have been crazy-hectic around these parts (a state of affairs that was, unfortunately, worsened by a recent bout with bronchitis).  But antibiotics have saved the day, once again.  (Yay, science!)  So, now I’m back to having my nose firmly pressed to the grindstone.

Unfortunately, it’s a different sort of grindstone than I’d prefer to have my nose against:  the whole business grindstone.  I’m reviewing a contract for a new short story collection and preparing to send out a handful of hardcover editions of I Am the New God to my beta readers, one of my mentors, and the one reader who actually managed to score a copy from my personal stash.  That means I have to truck over to a store, buy shipping materials, go to the post office, etc.   I’m busy doing writing stuff, but it’s not…well…writing.

Next week, I’ll attend the World Horror Convention in Portland, Oregon.  This is a business trip, but not one without a fair bit of pleasure built into the experience, too.  Looking forward to seeing old friends and making new ones, as always.  I’m very much looking forward to meeting W.H. Pugmire in person.  (After a few years of correspondence and enjoying his videos on Youtube.)   Also, I love air travel and I haven’t flown in awhile.  I love airports, even. I love the sense of all of these busy people on a gazillion different errands, all in one place for a brief period of time — comprising a temporary community of sorts.  I love all the shops in airports, and the way they try to give you a superficial sense of the city in which they’re located.  It’s what I’d imagine a 19th century sea port would be like — a sort of busy bazaar.

Last year Lucy Snyder and I drove down to New Orleans for WHC.  The year before that, I drove to WorldCon up in Chicago.  Hell, I think the last time I boarded a plane was in 2011, when I made it out to ReaderCon.  So, yes, I’m looking forward to dwelling among the clouds, once again — at least for four or five hours.

If you’re at WHC, you may want to know that I have a reading slot.  (Friday, 2:30 p.m., in the Hawthorne room).  Stop by.  Say hi.

I’ll also be participating in the mass autograph signing event.

Lookin’ forward to it.

Now, back to the grindstone.

Posted on April 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ll see you there! Looking forward to meeting people I haven’t met before, too!

    Armand

  2. Agreed! NOLA was a great con experience, but I’ve had a couple of conversations with people who were surprised to find out I was there. :) Tis what happens at a big event, I suppose. (Or maybe I just blend into the woodwork?).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

